Michael,s Spirit

 一年前に突然一人で予約してきた男性のメールに「女性の着物を着ることが出来るか」と書いてあって、「OK」と返事したものの、いざハンサムな彼がゲストとしてやってきて来て、私の紫の小紋を選んでくれてそれに白い袋帯を締めたのですが、きちんと着せたのに私の中の違和感がはなはだしく、「あなたは男なのにどうして女性の着物を着るの?」とけなしてしまったのですが、そのことをずっと悔やんでいました。爽やかな彼はそれから普通に男物の着物を着て、他のゲストと仲良く柴又へ出かけ、いつもにこやかに笑いながら私の体験をしてくれて、帰って行きましたが、最後まで私は彼の心の中に入り込むことも、彼を知ることもできなかった、最低の☆一つのホストでした。

One year ago, a man who suddenly booked himself alone wrote, "Can I wear a woman's kimono?" And replied, "OK," but he came in as a guest I chose my purple komon and fastened the white sash on it, but even though I put it on properly, the discomfort inside me was terrible. I was sorry for that. He was then dressed in a men's kimono and went out to Shibamata in peace with other guests, and always returned with a laughing smile, but until the end I couldn't get into his heart or know him.

 A year later, Michael, who had booked alone from New York, sent an email with the same statement. This is my revenge. Can't fail. I prepared him well and greeted him. First of all, I fastened a belt to my men's denim kimono and put on a black hat, and a long braid accented me and I became a cool boy. But this is not what he wants.

 次に最近若いアジア女性に人気の暗赤色の花模様の振袖を彼に着せることにし、和装下着、長襦袢、沢山の紐類、着物、帯とたくさん重ねて着せて、振袖男子の出来上がり。Michaelはわりと華奢な男の子だけれど女性とは違うので補正をどうしようか迷ったのですが、胸もないし平面的な振袖姿が出来ました。髪の毛は長い三つ編みのままで、化粧もせず、黒縁の眼鏡がアクセントでの振袖男子でした。走るのが好きなアスリートの彼は発車しそうな電車に乗ろうと猛ダッシュしたり、私の知り合いが遠くから見て手を振ってくれたのを見てなぜか爆笑して私の肩を叩いたりしている姿は明らかに男性なのですが、女性の着物を着ている意味を私がどう捉えていいのか迷いながら柴又を歩きました。Next, I decided to wear him a dark red flower pattern kimono, which is popular with young Asian women recently, and put on a lot of Japanese underwear, long undergarments, a lot of strings, kimonos, and obi. Michael is a rather delicate boy, but he is different from a woman. He had long braids, no makeup, and black-rimmed glasses accented by a kimono boy. An athlete who likes to run, he dashes hard to get on a train that is likely to depart, or sees an acquaintance waving from afar and for some reason laughs and hits my shoulder .He is clearly a man, but he walked in Shibamata while wondering what I meant by wearing a woman's kimono.

いつもはいかない山本亭の庭の紅葉が綺麗で、その中に入り込んで写真撮ったり、女の子に振袖着せてああ綺麗と思う同じ感情を彼の姿に求めて、いろいろやってみたのですが、最後に江戸川の広々した土手に上がり、いろんな話をしてから彼が好きだという夕日に向かって歩きながらセルフィ―で写真を撮った時、やっと外国人の彼が異装着物を着るということは、着物の解釈を変えることなんだなとわかりました。見方が違う、切り込み方が違う。でも本質は外していない。

The autumn leaves in the garden of Yamamoto-tei, which do not always go, are beautiful, I took a lot of pictures for him,  but at the end when we got up on the wide bank of the Edogawa, talked about various things, and took a photo at Selfie while walking toward the sunset that he liked .

帰りの電車で、スマホの中の、彼が裸でほぐした長い髪を後ろにたらし布団に座っている写真を見せてくれました。うー!すごい!

 これまでも、普通に綺麗な写真を撮るだけでなく、着物に対して素の表情をみせる意外なゲストの姿に意表を突かれることがあったのですが、その瞬間を留めておけるのは私の記憶の中でしかない、そしてその時私はゲストの心の中に入り込んでいる。これが私の求めていることでした。振袖男子君はわかりやすくそれを教えてくれた気がします。

On the return train, he showed me a picture of a smartphone sitting on a futon barely with his long undressed hair back behind. Hmm! Awesome!

Until now, I have been surprised by the unexpected appearance of guests who not only take beautiful pictures normally but also show a natural expression to the kimono, but I can keep that moment Is only in my memory, and then I'm in the heart of the guest. This was what I was looking for. I feel like the kimono boy told me that it was easy to understand.

エアビーアンドビーが再開されなくても、ゲストが来なくても、今度は私が出かけて行けばいい。自分が表現したいものが見え、それと対象物が一致した時の感覚、規制の世界を飛び越えてもまた戻ってこられる着物の存在。不協和音を納得して呑み込める胃袋の強さ。

 今はコロナウィルスでみんな外へ出られないし、仕事もキャンセルになってしまって収入もありません。着物を畳んでタンスの中にしまって、みんなこれまでよく働いてきてくれたなと感謝しています。でも着物たちもいろいろな国の美女たちに着てもらえて、どんなに嬉しかったことでしょう。これからどんなことになるか全くわかりませんが、新しいつながりが出来ていく予感がしています。

Even if AirBnB doesn't resume or guests don't come, I can go out from now on. You can see what you want to express, the feeling when the object matches it, the existence of a kimono that can return again even if you jump over the regulatory world. The strength of the stomach that convinces the dissonance and swallows it.
Now everyone can't go out with coronavirus and their work has been canceled and there is no income.  But I was so happy that the kimonos were worn by beauties from various countries. I have no idea what it will be, but I have the feeling that a new connection will be made.