愛は面影の中に  The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face

 これはゲストに大人気の,私の菊の模様の訪問着の裾模様です。何十人もの外国人がこの着物を着て、それぞれ好みの帯を締め、髪を結った姿は本当に綺麗で、深い青の地色と大きな咲き乱れた菊は、日本人が着こなすのは難しいというか、柄に負けてしまいます。四十年前、夫との結婚が決まり結納のために私が選んだ着物なのですが、身長が高いからこれなら着こなせると店員さんに強く勧められ買ったものの、目の小さい私には少し荷が重い着物でした。演歌歌手みたいと思いながら二回ばかり着て、そのままタンスにしまわれていたのですが、外国人に着物を着せる仕事を始めてからびっくりしたのは、この着物を選ぶ方の多いこと、そして皆よく似合って綺麗なのです。肌の色、体格に関係なく、この着物はうちの中でも外でも映え、豪華でした。

 皆に着せるとき、この着物は夫との婚約式で着たと説明すると、彼氏いないという女の子たちはこれからいい縁があるかもしれないと喜んで着てくれます。とはいえ、私の結婚生活は自営業だったし義父母と同居だったしいろいろ大変でしたが、四十年たち私は年取ってしまったけれど着物は全く変わらず着る人を美しく変身させてくれます。これは日本の伝統技術の極みです。今は無理でもいつかまたこの着物たちを着てくれる方と巡り合う日が来ると信じているし、こういう着物が何十枚もいろいろな所から送られてくるのですから、それを皆さんに着てもらわなければ、私の立場がありません。でも、こんなに多くの外国人に着てもらえるなんて、この着物たちは想像したことがあるでしょうか。こんなに幸せなめぐり逢いを心から感謝しています。

 昨日久しぶりに図書館へ行って、若い頃好きだったロバータ・フラックのCDを借りてきて、「愛は面影の中に」というバラードを聞いていたら、いろいろなことが思い出されて、涙が出ました。

The first time ever I saw your face,  I thought the sun rose in your eyes 

 And the moon and the stars were the gifts you gave    To the dark and the endless skies,    my love ..

 主人と初めて会った時のこと、そして何百人ものゲストに会って、着物を着せた時のこと。努力してもそれが報われないことが多かった私の半生でしたが、自分にできる事とできない事、向いている事と向いていない事区別することが大事だというゲーテの言葉を読んで、しゃにむに努力してもそれが報われないことが多いことも実感しています。でも結局私が持っている技術とは何でしょう。何もない気がするのですが、でも今の閉鎖された状態でも、コロナ鬱にもならず、気持ちがいくらでも羽ばたけるのはこれだけ素晴らしいものに囲まれているからでしょう。どんな情況でも自分のベストが尽くせるように準備し、積み重ねること。語学も歴史も美学も文学も音楽も、月も太陽も花も風も、全てが私たちを助けてくれています。過去の引き出しを開け、今の気持ちと結びつける、自分の心が開くことをイメージして、今できることを深めていきましょう。

 This chrysanthemum blue kimono is very popular with foreign guests, and dozens of people have wore this kimono so far. I made it 40 years ago when I got engaged with my husband, but it was difficult to wear this bold kimono. The clerk recommended that I could wear it if I was tall, but when many guests now wear it, they all look more beautiful than me. There were many things that were fun and painful in marriage, but I'm really happy that many foreigners are pleased with the kimonos that know  my life.  And the kimonos and I  have seen the scenery that no one has ever experienced.

 When I was younger, I liked Roberta Flack's song, and when I went to the library yesterday to borrow her CD and listen to the ballads, various memories came back to life and tears came out. The song's title is "The first time ever I saw your face". When I first met my husband, and when I met hundreds of guests and put on a kimono. 

 I am happy  that there is always something that I really love. Therefore, I am moved by the wonderful songs, I am moved by how wonderful the kimono is, and I love and thank the people who wear it. I don't have the skills to be proud of, and even though I made a lot of effort, it often ended without paying off. 

 We must prepare and accumulate so that we can do our best in any situation. Languages, history, aesthetics, literature, music, the moon, the sun, the flowers, the wind, everything helps us. Let's deepen what we can do now, by opening the drawer of the past, connecting with the feeling of the present, and opening your own mind.