エドワード・ホッパー   Edward Hopper

 When I was young, my favorite painter was Van Gogh. But I was shocked when I saw a certain painting at the MOMA exhibition, and after that, I looked for several paintings by the same artist, but they always had the same impact on me. I remembered the name Edward Hopper, and he became my favorite painter. 

 The commentary said that he depicted the anxiety in American cities and landscapes, and gave visual form to the emptiness, loneliness, and boredom of the city as a uniquely lonely landscape. I realized once again that this is what I imagined in my mind. The day after I bought a book called ``17 Stories Born from Paintings'', In Sunlight Or In Shadow~Stories, inspired by the paintings of Edward Hopper, I was a little surprised when I read the preface.

 ``A strong fascination with Hopper's paintings is nothing new, not only in America but around the world, and this tendency is especially noticeable among readers and writers.

Hopper's interest is not in meaning or story, but in form, color, and light itself; his paintings do not tell a story, but simply suggest that there is a story within the painting, waiting to be told. 

He captures a moment in time and presents it to us, and that moment clearly has a past and a future, and it's our job to find out.

It's not just me, I know this feeling when I look at Hopper's paintings, I know what happens next, I've experienced it before, and I can move on from here! A sense of déjà vu. I've seen this gas station scene somewhere before, and maybe someday someone will see it. That's why everyone has a story in this painting.

Dear Alex

 

 

This is a blog I wrote 5 years ago. Many things happened after this.

But I still cherish the feeling I got at that time. This is something that AI cannot have, and I believe that the technology of culture is necessary to expand the emotions that only humans can create.

You guests give me a variety of passions, and I strive to know the passions and emotions within you, which is the purpose of my work.

It's raining again today. I hope the cherry blossoms bloom soon.

Please say hello to mom.